Music To Make You Cry: Hammock’s Departure Songs

I’m not afraid to admit that I’ve always been what I like to call a “sensitive soul”. I’ve done my best over the years to build up a thicker skin to avoid crying in inappropriate and often embarrassing situations but this past Thursday when I was sitting in the KZUU office reviewing albums it took all I had to not let the tears roll while listening to “Departure Songs“. I hadn’t been extremely familiar with Hammock‘s past work but after listening to this album of nearly two hours of ambient bliss, you can bet your sweet ass I went and got familiar! The elegant soundscapes of majestic swells and crescendos take your mind completely away from the world you currently inhabit to another place, hence why the title is so fitting. Their use of singing on occasional tracks makes this album stand out from the past ones and, in my opinion, makes it their best. I don’t know what else to say about it except that it is absolutely divine, possibly life-changing, and a complete masterpiece. Let the tears flow, my friends.

Download: Ten Thousand Years Won’t Save Your Life

– Jasmine

Leave a Reply

