A Seattle bird: Rocky Votolato

This is the fourth installment in our _____-part series profiling artists playing the Birds on a Wire Festival in Pullman March 26-27.Visit http://www.birdsonawirefest.com or http://www.stereopathicmusic.com for tickets and more information.

Rocky Votolato plays at 8:00 PM on Friday, March 26 at the Gladish Auditorium.

The first time I heard Rocky Votolato’s unique voice was back in my junior high days.  His older albums Suicide Medicine (2003) and Makers (2006) were so catchy and creative.  Being in junior high I guess Rocky was my first inspiration that got me into the music I listen to these days, which is why I hold him a lot closer to my heart than many artists.  When you first listen to Rocky live, the first thing you will notice is that he pours his soul and southern roots into his music.  His bright, choppy guitar chords, soothing yet strong voice, and wailing harmonica will warm your insides and have those butterflies swarming around your stomach for days.

Rocky’s new album True Devotion was released about a month ago from Barsuk records.  I was not expecting it to be spectacular, but I was caught off guard when I heard the first song on the album “Lucky Clover Coin”.  Through the mixture of string instruments and darker lyrics, this whole album speaks like a story to me.  From the time I heard “White Daisy Passing” on the show The OC and now, Rocky has definitely grown as a musician and never ceases to impress me.  He is definitely one to see at our Birds on a Wire Folk Festival and one of the finest musicians from Seattle!

With much love,

Andi

2 thoughts on “A Seattle bird: Rocky Votolato

Leave a Reply

